Welcome to the official website of Slate Islands, the London based band. Sign up to the Slate Islands mailing list to get the latest news from the band:



Polly MacLean, vocals                                                      Andy Chapman, guitar

Slate Island Band Members

Éilish McCracken, violin                                             Al Firrell, bass & cello

Latest news & gigs:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Prev Next

Wednesday 15th March: Mycenae House

Gigs Sat, 04 Mar 2017

Our Andy is running in this year's London Marathon to raise money for Shelter, the homelessness charity - this is a bene...

Sponsor our Andy to run the London Marathon!

News Sat, 04 Mar 2017

Setting aside his guitar, Andy has been training hard for some time now and will be running the 2017 London Marathon to ...

Saturday 11th February: The Harrison

Gigs Fri, 27 Jan 2017

After an indecently long interval, we return with a London gig - and it's on a Saturday! Come and see us on Saturday 11t...

Still more Shirley Collins!

News Mon, 21 Sep 2015

The Shirley Inspired Shirley Collins tribute album goes from strength to strength! It's now available on triple CD as we...

Sunday 4th October: We Shall Overcome

Gigs Mon, 21 Sep 2015

We Shall Overcome is a nationwide weekend of events in opposition to austerity and in celebration of culture and solidar...

Thursday 1st October: Blang

Gigs Sat, 19 Sep 2015

The very fine Blang record label is celebrating its tenth anniversary with two shows at the new 12 Bar Club - and we're ...

Monday 15th December: Murphy MacLean

Gigs Sat, 13 Dec 2014

Murphy MacLean is Polly's side project: a duo with Joe Murphy of Sergeant Buzfuz. They'll be playing at the Under The In...

Saturday 4th October: Merge Festival (CANCELLED!)

Gigs Wed, 10 Sep 2014

(Stop press - very sadly, the organisers have had to cancel this event because such heavy rain is forecast that the outd...

Thursday 2nd October: Murphy MacLean in Luton

Gigs Wed, 10 Sep 2014

Debut gig for Polly's new side project, a duo with Joe Murphy from Sergeant Buzfuz (on this occasion, also featuring Éil...