Welcome to the official website of Slate Islands, the London based band. Sign up to the Slate Islands mailing list to get the latest news from the band:



Polly MacLean, vocals                                                      Andy Chapman, guitar

Slate Island Band Members

Éilish McCracken, violin                                             Al Firrell, bass & cello

Latest news & gigs:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Prev Next

Saturday 4th October: MERGE Festival

Gigs Wed, 10 Sep 2014

We'll be playing at 3pm on the Riverside Stage - a converted 1950s airstream trailer which will be parked outside Tate M...

Thursday 2nd October: Murphy MacLean in Luton

Gigs Wed, 10 Sep 2014

Debut gig for Polly's new side project, a duo with Joe Murphy from Sergeant Buzfuz (on this occasion, also featuring Éil...

Edinburgh: Wed 20th & Thur 21st August

Gigs Sun, 17 Aug 2014

Polly is heading up to the city of her birth to play a couple of short sets without the rest of the band, as part of the...

The Ballad of Shirley Collins, part 2

News Mon, 11 Aug 2014

Polly's solo track, recorded for a Shirley Collins tribute album (see previous article below for details) can now be hea...

The Ballad of Shirley Collins

News Sat, 12 Jul 2014

Film-makers Rob Curry and Tim Plester (the team behind the acclaimed 'Way of the Morris') have launched a kickstarter ca...

Monday 14th July: The Harrison

Gigs Wed, 02 Jul 2014

'Guts for Garters proudly present an urban folk/country evening of musical and lyrical wonder' at this King's Cross pub:...

Monday 19th May: Eurovision encore

Gigs Wed, 14 May 2014

Our annual appearance at the 'Under The Influence' alternative Eurovision night, where each act plays two of their own s...

Friday 22nd November: Bad Santas book launch

Gigs Tue, 19 Nov 2013

We'll be playing a 20-minute set at this unusual book launch for Bad Santas and Other Creepy Christmas Characters: 'a gl...

Mycenae House, Friday 18th October

Gigs Wed, 02 Oct 2013

We'll be playing a full-length set at this beautiful South London venue. Support act will be Matt Dolphin, a singer-song...